Book Review: The Clockwork Scarab

17084242Mina is different from other seventeen-year-old girls, but that’s to be expected when your uncle is the legendary Sherlock Holmes. Her life is about logic and deduction, not dresses and afternoon tea.

Evaline Stoker, sister to Bram, comes from a long line of vampire hunters, but the family seems to have done their job too well. Supernatural strength and speed don’t do Evaline much good when vampires are all but extinct.

A mysterious invitation draws Mina and Evaline to the scene of a murder at the British Museum, but they soon learn that the young woman isn’t the first victim. Another girl was recently murdered and a third is missing. The only clue is a clockwork scarab.

Mina and Evaline become part of the investigation, but working together is easier said than done. Mina knows the value of research and forethought. Evaline understands that things don’t always go according to plan and you have to improvise.

Working together isn’t the only challenge they face. Dylan Eckhert’s arrival at the museum defies logic, and whenever Inspector Grayling is around, Mina’s reason seems to flee. Evaline, used to having the upper hand, discovers she isn’t the only one traveling through London’s shadows. A thief named Pix has an irritating habit of turning up when she least expects him.

Mina and Evaline will have to trust each other and combine their formidable skills if they want to solve the mystery of the clockwork scarab before the killer strikes again.

In The Clockwork Scarab, author Colleen Gleason creates a turn-of-the-century London where electricity is illegal and steam power rules Victorian England. Dracula author Bram Stoker is given a fictional vampire hunter background while the fictional character Sherlock Holmes is brought to life, and Gleason makes both believable.

The Clockwork Scarab is a clever blend of mystery, steampunk, and urban fantasy, and it’s a must-read for fans of The Friday Society or The Steampunk Chronicles.

©2013 Kim Vandel

Leave a Reply